March 10, 2021 (Lamar, CO) – Four of Lamar Community College’s (LCC) employees have been recognized by the Colorado Community College System’s (CCCS) annual Commitment to Excellence Awards for their dedication and exceptional performance in their roles.
LCC’s Dean of Academics, Dr. Annessa Stagner Stulp; Welding Professor Doug Cash; English and Composition Instructor Deb Elam; and Head of Grounds and Landscape, Kyle Kurtz have all been recognized for their unique talents, skills, perspectives and heart needed to deliver high-quality college programs, supportive services and safe environments to the students of LCC.
Each Colorado college nominates one administrator, one faculty member, one adjunct-instructor and one classified member to receive the recognition each year. Only 56 employees from 13 community colleges and the state system office are awarded.
LCC President Dr. Linda Lujan said Stagner Stulp, Cash, Elam and Kurtz went above and beyond in their roles in the last year while the college dealt with the unprecedented challenges brought on by the COVID-19 pandemic.
“Lamar Community College is fortunate to have great employees all focused on student success. That was even more evident as last spring’s pandemic emergence changed the ways we work and presented additional challenges for every single employee group,” she said. “I am so proud of this year’s honorees, each nominated and selected by their LCC peers. They represent the very best qualities of our great college. Congratulations to Deb Elam, Doug Cash, Kyle Kurtz and Dr. Annessa Stagner Stulp!”
CCCS normally hosts the nominees in March at the Governor’s Residence at the Boettcher Mansion, however, this year the event was celebrated virtually due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Honorees received a personalized award package from CCCS with the support of event sponsor Colorado Public Employees Retirement Association (Colorado PERA).
“CCCS’s Commitment to Excellence Awards provides an opportunity to say ‘thank you’ to our dynamic and innovative employees who play a critical role in helping our system achieve its mission of transforming lives and communities through education and workforce training,” said Joe Garcia, chancellor of the Colorado Community College System. “The collective work of all our employees is truly transformational, and I am inspired – especially now – as they continue to meet hardship with care, resourcefulness and innovation to help students through these trying times, as well as care for one another.”
Ron Baker, executive director at Colorado PERA, said the impact of these professionals is “critical in shaping our state’s workforce and economic future.”
“We are proud to partner with CCCS and sponsor the recognition of these deserving  employees who exemplify excellence and service in higher education.”
2021 CCCS Commitment to Excellence Award Honorees: (Order of categories listed by College: Administrator, Classified, Faculty, Adjunct-Instructor)
Arapahoe Community College 
∙ Jennifer Husum
∙ Delcia Garcia
∙ Monica Fuglei
∙ Rebecca Terpstra
Colorado Northwestern Community College
 ∙ Jessica Wollman
∙ Angie Kenney
∙ Tiffany Douglas
∙ Dwaine Chesser
CCCS System Office
∙ Greg Busch
∙ Martin Ramirez
∙ Magdalena Sokolowski -CCCOnline Adjunct-Instructor Award
Community College of Aurora 
∙ LeeDel Cohenour
∙ Kacey Turner
∙ Brandon Williams
∙ Ayse Durmus
Community College of Denver
 ∙ Chris Arcarese
∙ Spring Johnson
∙ Tina Zhao
∙ Amanda O’Sullivan
Lamar Community College 
∙ Annessa Stagner Stulp
∙ Kyle Kurtz
∙ Doug Cash
∙ Debbie Elam
Northeastern Junior College
∙ Timothy Stahley
∙ Kelli Moe
∙ Amanda Kerker
∙ Mary Smith
Pikes Peak Community College 
∙ Chelle Martinez
∙ Erica Fuller
∙ Carrie Baldwin
∙ Nate Wadman
Red Rocks Community College 
∙ Jon Johnson
∙ Bobby Asher
∙ All Red Rocks Faculty
∙ Marcey Kern
Front Range Community College 
∙ Heather Frost
∙ Janet Clark
∙ Susan Faltinson
∙ Laura Wally
Morgan Community College 
∙ Andrea Ertle
∙ Sandy Johnson
∙ Lynne Collins
∙ Andrew Hayes
Otero Community College 
∙ Sarah Petramala
∙ All Otero Physical Plant Staff
∙ Becky Sporrer
∙ Catherine Bollacker
Pueblo Community College 
∙ Bonnie Housh
∙ Debbie Clement
∙ Marianne Horvath
∙ Nancy Hunt
∙ Jamie Patti – Jerome Wartgow
Teaching with Technology Award
Trinidad State Junior College 
∙ Al Malespini
∙ Francisco Lucas
∙ Kay Evans
∙ Terri Herbstritt